Page 1 of 1

Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:27 pm
by hrd
I just downloaded Trine 1.11 from the App Store on my Mac tower. After the intro, on the first screen (which I think is the tutorial screen), I can only see the 'use w, a, s, d to move', my mouse and the main character head on the top left. I changed the brightness to the max level and this didn't help. Thanks in advance for your help.

Re: Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:41 pm
by fb_joel
I'd suggest restarting the Mac just in case, and then trying again.

If that doesn't help, can you let me know your Mac specs/model info?

Re: Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:10 pm
by hrd
I tried restarting, but it did not work. I still see the black screen.

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 3 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10


System Software Overview:

System Version: Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549)
Kernel Version: Darwin 10.8.0

Re: Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:37 am
by fb_joel
Hmm, this is an interesting case. The first Mac Pro has an nVidia GeForce 7300 GT graphics card (unless you have the model with the nVidia Quadro FX 4500 graphics card - that might explain everything). The 7300 should in theory run the game. However, it might be that the drivers for that are so old that they cause some issues... Have you played any recent games on it?

Let me know. It's entirely possible that we can't get this working so in that case we'll have to resort to something else or a refund...

Re: Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:01 pm
by hrd
Here is my graphics info:

ATI Radeon X1900 XT:

Chipset Model: ATY,RadeonX1900
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 512 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)

I've played Sims 3 on it recently - that does load and play OK.

Re: Black screen on tutorial page

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:40 am
by fb_joel
Hmm, ah. Well, the Radeon X series should be able to run the game, however it seems to depend on some strange things - some people have had good luck with X1600 where others have not. It can be a driver issue - check if there are any newer drivers for it (ATi/Apple hasn't released any new drivers in ages I believe, but perhaps there's still something that'd be newer than whatever you have currently). Alternatively you could even try earlier drivers...

If that doesn't help then we're probably out of luck. :( I'll PM you.