anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Technical support for Trine for the Windows and PSN platforms. Please indicate your system specs and operating system in your post if you can.
Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:05 pm

Hi,

Im getting in trine this error : Display Driver Stopped Responding and Has Recovered .
Then it says : nvlddmkm stopped responding and has recovered .

For now it only happen in Trine .

Im playing also battlefield 2 wich is one of the heaviest games today and i have no problems .

So i tried in Trine to turn off AA and AF and all other graphic options in the game graphics advanced settings .
Didnt help .

I also disabled the gpu physx option in my nvidia card control panel in windows but didnt help .

Im playing and after few minutes the game blinking the screen black and so then the game stuck then the game crash back to windows with the error : " nvlddmkm stopped responding and has recovered " . Wich is a graphic driver .

I search the web didnt find solution to this problem .

I just wonder if the problem is in the game Trine or in my pc ? Anyone else got this problems too i mean this error msg too ?

My pc is : duo 2 core 3ghz 4gb ram nvidia geforce 8800gtx 768mb windows vista 64 bit premium .

What can i do to fix it ?

Thanks a lot .

User avatar
Mr. ShadowStealer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Mr. ShadowStealer » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:31 pm

Hard to say anything because I'm just a random player like you too but I would suggest to install latest graphic drivers for your card. It may affect this issue but I doubt it does anything.
Not all of you have äää's and ööö's :P

Helmutcheese
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 am

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Helmutcheese » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:32 pm

Used to happen a lot in older Nvidia drivers under Vista (there was multiple reasons posted for this all over web and none were conclusive).

Seems fixed in newer drivers but if you overclock the GPU too much it can happen, I had remove my overclock for /Trine or I get a black screen with music playing but PC is actually hung.

Crysis and all other games do not rape my overclock, Trine is said to heat up the GPU more than normal and AA has issues also (official info from here).

beo6
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby beo6 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:41 pm

Hello,

i didn't played Trine for long, because there is no German translation what i hope will get fixed soon.
So i can not tell you if this happens for me in Trine too.

But your problem happens for me in the Game Left4Dead in not reproducible occasions.
but most of the playtime i don't get that message.
in many other games i never had any problem like that.

i have Core 2 Duo
NVidia 8600
Win Vista x64
3 GB Ram

NVidia Driver Version: 186.18

Left 4 Dead don't uses PhysX.

what driver version do you use?
are you using the Steam version with the Steam Overlay enabled? (like Left 4 Dead on my PC?)

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Beo6 :

Postby Chocolade » Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:48 pm

Hi,

My nvidia driver is 185.85 i saw your driver is newer .
I have vista 64 bit too should i change to the newer driver version as yours too ?

Second i tried everything . I have disabled the Physx in the nvidia control panel of the videoo card in the game Launcher in advanced i removed all the V's and disabled AA and AF and nothing helped .

So i dont know what else to do .

In battlefield 2 my graphics there are all set to highest and AA is on 8 and i have no problems . And battlefield 2 is much much heavier game then trine .

What else can i do ?
If ill go back to windows xp 32bit will it help ? Or vista 32 bit will it solve the problem ?
I have 4gb ram and i know in 32bit it will not use all the 4gb ram but in 32bit xp or vista the problem wont show ?

My pc is : duo 2 core 3ghz and 4gb ram nvidia geforce 8800gtx 768 mb windows premium 64 bit .

Im almost sure the problem is in the game because if it wasnt the game i was suppose to see this error msg and graphics problems also in battlefield 2 no ?

Thank you for the help .

Helmutcheese
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 am

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Helmutcheese » Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:12 pm

I'm on 182.50 as the newer ones that give gains in likes of Riddick only gives gains to other cards not the G80 (GTX/Ultra) and actually were a few FPS slower for me.

All you need to do is grab latest PhysX driver as one in Demo and Full Game are said to be older.

And make sure you GPU is cool and if it acts up remove any Overclock you have even if like me its fine in other games inc Crysis.

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:04 pm

Helmutcheese

So to download the physx new version do you have a link please ?
The video card drivers to change or not ?

And my video card on rest is 74-75c degrees is that too hot ? Do i need to put some cooler on it ?


Thanks .

User avatar
Mr. ShadowStealer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Mr. ShadowStealer » Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:17 pm

How you can get your graphic cards so hot?

My GTX 280 is on idle around 44 C degrees... based on Everest's report.
Not all of you have äää's and ööö's :P

Helmutcheese
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 am

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Helmutcheese » Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:32 pm

Pretty obv he is talking about Load temp not Idle Temp.

This game for some reason (same as other peeps find) makes my GPU hotter than any other game.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_9.09.0428_whql.html

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Tue Jul 07, 2009 10:29 am

Helmutcheese

What do you mean load temp ?
Im looking now at my video card temp while im on windows while im writing this msg the game trine isnt loaded not run .
And the temp of the gpu is 74-75c .

What did you mean by load temp ?

User avatar
Mr. ShadowStealer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Mr. ShadowStealer » Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:08 pm

By load temp he means when you are putting pressure on your card, meaning playing a game on it and then looking at the temps.
Not all of you have äää's and ööö's :P

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:41 pm

Then no the temp is 74c on rest when no game is in the background or on playing .
Is that too hot ?

naioro
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:51 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby naioro » Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:01 pm

hi all
same problem here on an 8800gtx (latest drivers) on both vista sp2 and windows 7 7100 build both 32 bit.
the problem in ONLY with trine so it's 100% a game bug.

PQMarine
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:16 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby PQMarine » Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:40 pm

Same here.
E6750, Radeon 4870 1GB, 8GB RAM, Vista 64. (Tried Catalyst 9.6 and 9.5)

I've tried every suggestion. Reinstalled Physics drivers, disabled Catalyst AI and AA and set everything to low, but after some time i get that error.
Sometimes i can open the task manager and kill Trine, but often i have to reboot.
After the first time the error occurs more quickly. Lower resolutions had the most impact on the time to the crash.
Looks like overheating, i know, but i've also played in window mode and checked the temperature. Never went over 80 degrees.
Once, i've played Dead Space after Trine crashed. After two minutes i got that error, too. But only once. The next day i played Dead Space several hours non stop with no crash.

Before and, now that i've finished this great game yesterday, after Trine, i never got that error again.
Maybe Trines deferred rendering technique stresses the GPU more than that of other games, i don't know.

Edit.
Cleaned my PC. There was a hole shitload of dust in there. :)
Now my graphics card goes not over 60 degrres while playing Trine.
In my case it was an overheating problem, but it seems, that other games are more tolerant to GPU temp.
Last edited by PQMarine on Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Helmutcheese
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 am

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Helmutcheese » Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:41 pm

Yes its too hot, your card should not run 74C at idle.

I assumed it was your LOAD Temp not Idle Temp when above user said it was hot and his is 44C Idle.

Advise you use Rivatuner to see the actual temp of the GPU while game is running (you can look back along the time line to see.


Image

User avatar
fb_juha
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:18 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby fb_juha » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:35 pm

If you are having this problem could you please try removing antialiasing, lowering your resolution to minimum (640x480 is the lowest launcher supports) and enabling vertical sync. This could helps us to figure out if it is related to heat or something else.

naioro
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:51 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby naioro » Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:36 pm

that worked! so it's a heating problem... and I have my case opened at all times...
ty

EDIT: dusted off my hardware and it's all good now.

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:11 pm

Yes i reduced the resolution in the game to 640x480 .
AA and AF disabled and i mark V in the Vertical sync .

And the game running no problems .

So i guess its heating problem . I just wonder if the the problem is in my system pc video card or in the game that make something to get hot ?

My video card on idle i mean when im in windows like now and no games are in the background the GPU say 74c .
Is it hot enough ?


And if the problem is in my side what and how should i cool the video card ?

My video card is 8800gtx 768mb .

In any case in other games like battlefield 2 im on 1600x1200 resolution and AA is on 4 or 8 and i dont have this errors and crashes like in trine .


Thanks for the help .

Helmutcheese
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 am

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Helmutcheese » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:32 am

Once again, your GPU is too hot if its 74C with no games running (even for a Passive Cooler Card/No Fan).

74C will not kill the new cards as they can run 90-100C without issues but it still should be cooler than 74C unless your case sucks for airflow.

This game is nice but its not exactly a modern 3D high Res/e10/10 Eye Candy game, it should not make peeps GPU's 10C higher than Crysis/Mirrors Edge (uses PhysX).

naioro
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:51 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby naioro » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:38 am

my dust problem was with the CPU, not the GPU!
the video card was ok, but the processor was all dusty.
it's working now in 1600 maxed out with no problems.

Dust off your case and you will be fine.

User avatar
Mr. ShadowStealer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Mr. ShadowStealer » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:41 pm

^^

74C GPU on idle? :D Even my old Socket A processor couldn't reach that kind of temperatures under serious pressure. At max it could reach only like... 68-70C. :D
Not all of you have äää's and ööö's :P

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Mr. ShadowStealer so the problem is in my video card ?

Postby Chocolade » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:33 pm

Mr. ShadowStealer do you think i have a physical problem in my video card ?
Or its just my pc case that dosent cool enough ?

I used rivatuner to speed upthe gpu fan speed now its on 100% .
The gpu temp now on idle is 66c .

Should i put a coolder on the video card ? If so ,so wich one ?

I wish i knew why my video card is so hot .

Could be its hot beacuse the cpu fan i have isnt good ? I have a big cpu cooler on the cpu it self and its making noise .
Could be its making the video card to be hot ?

What should i do ? If ill put a cooler on the video card so the temp will be low it will help ?

Thanks .

Chocolade
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:12 pm

Re: anyone else got error : " Display Driver Stopped Responding"

Postby Chocolade » Thu Jul 09, 2009 10:35 pm

Naioro

What is your gpu of the video card temp on idle and while playing ?
And what video card do you have ? Like i do ?

And i did clean my cpu fan few times . I dont think its the problem i have a big big fan cooler on the cpu that make noise maybe thats the problem . But even if its the problem why my video card is so hot ?

Whats the temp on your video card on idle and while gaming ?

Thanks .



naioro wrote:my dust problem was with the CPU, not the GPU!
the video card was ok, but the processor was all dusty.
it's working now in 1600 maxed out with no problems.

Dust off your case and you will be fine.

User avatar
Mr. ShadowStealer
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Mr. ShadowStealer so the problem is in my video card ?

Postby Mr. ShadowStealer » Fri Jul 10, 2009 1:32 am

Chocolade

It's hard to say because I don't know that card well but I would imaginate that it isn't a physical problem but that card really runs on that high temps even on idle and the CPU cooler shouldn't affect the temperature of the graphic card unless the cpu really heats the whole inside of the case so much that the temperature inside the case rises significantly.

Sorry, I can't say much about this subject...
Not all of you have äää's and ööö's :P


Return to “Trine Technical Support for Windows & PSN”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests