Page 1 of 1

Trine 2 on Mac - output sampling rate

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:50 am
by zpmxmti
Trine 2 currently switches the audio output sampling rate on my Mac to 48 kHz and leaves it at that setting when I quit the game. I go into Audio MIDI Setup and change it back to 96 kHz when I want to listen to music. Would it be possible to have Trine 2 switch the sampling rate back to its pre game setting when quitting? Or even better, could Trine 2 launch without changing the output sampling rate?

Re: Trine 2 on Mac - output sampling rate

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:14 pm
by fb_joel
Sorry about this. At the moment we have no solution - we'll need to look into our middleware Wwise and see if it has any options for this (I'd imagine it has but we just don't know it yet). So we'll have to see. Sorry!

Re: Trine 2 on Mac - output sampling rate

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:50 pm
by zpmxmti
Thanks for attempting to fix this issue. However, the recently released Trine 2 v1.11 crashes when I click "skip" when the narrator is reading (or "start" when the narrator is done reading). Manually switching my Mac to 48 kHz output (in Audio MIDI Setup) before launching Trine 2 seems to prevent the crashing.

Here's some more information about my system, in case it would help:
I'm running Mac 10.6.8
I have the 2.4 GHz version of this MacBook - http://support.apple.com/kb/SP500
I'm running Trine 2 v1.11 with Steam (i.e. not the Mac App Store version)

Edit - Here's an update: I tried 44.1 kHz and that works too. It's only when I use 96 kHz that Trine 2 v1.11 crashes when I click "skip."

Re: Trine 2 on Mac - output sampling rate

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:41 pm
by FB_JussiE
Hello zpmxmti!

Sorry for the inconvenience. This issue should be fixed with the next patch which hopefully will be released soonish.

Thanks for the information, really helped on tracking down the issue!

Re: Trine 2 on Mac - output sampling rate

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:57 am
by zpmxmti
In my limited testing, Trine 2 v1.13 seems to launch and play fine. When I'm using 96 kHz audio output, v1.13 switches the output sampling rate to 48 kHz but switches it back to 96 kHz upon quitting. Thanks Frozenbyte!