Performance Question

For discussion about Trine 2, released in December 2011 on Windows, Mac, Xbox, PlayStation Network and later on Linux and Wii U.
krvst8
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:10 pm

Performance Question

Postby krvst8 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:20 pm

I'm scratching my head with this so here it goes. I have a 27in iMac mid 2010 with a 2.93 Ghz core i7, 8 GB Ram, and an ATI Radeon HD 5750, which runs Trine 2 like butter (50 FPS) with everything on high. I recently got a Dell XPS 8300 with a 3.0 Ghz Core i5, 6 GB Ram, and an ATI Radeon HD 6450 (with latest drivers). Trine 2 crawls horribly on the Dell (less than 15 FPS). I don't quite know what to make of this as both machines have similar specs. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

krvst8
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:10 pm

Re: Performance Question

Postby krvst8 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:22 pm

I've even running all graphical settings on Medium with the Dell and still getting horrible performance.

Zybex
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Performance Question

Postby Zybex » Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:44 pm

The graphics cards are not even close to "similar specs". There's your problem.
You would have to play in really low res, without AA nad v-sync.

texture performance and pixel performance is more than 4x slower on your laptop. The speed difference is almost the same.
But check wchich version you have:



From the AMD website:

AMD Radeon™ HD 6450 GPU Feature Summary
625-750 MHz engine clock
512MB-1GB DDR3/GDDR5 memory
533-800 MHz DDR3 (1.066-1.6 Gbps) or 800-900 MHz GDDR5 (3.2-3.6 Gbps) memory clock
8.5-12.8 GB/s (DDR3) or 25.6-28.8 GB/s (GDDR5) memory bandwidth

If it's 533MHz DDR3, you're out of luck. You might have to play at 720x480. :(

krvst8
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:10 pm

Re: Performance Question

Postby krvst8 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:02 pm

I don't have a laptop. The Dell XPS 8300 is a desktop.

krvst8
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:10 pm

Re: Performance Question

Postby krvst8 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:09 pm

I'm comparing both video card specs:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/ ... iew.aspx#2

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/ ... iew.aspx#2

While it does seem like the 5750 is a better card I really find it hard to believe that Trine 2 is unplayable with a 6450.

Zybex
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Performance Question

Postby Zybex » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:29 pm

A desktop, OK, but it doesn't make a difference.
T2 should be playable on 6450, but as I said - you'll have to significantly lower the resolution, definitely below 1280x720, no AA, and maybe lowered settings.
Also, don't use asnisotropic filtering.
Use GPU-Z to determine what memory version your card uses.

Anyway - this card is technologically 10 years old if you have 8GB/s there. You should change it as fast as possible. You won't have to pay much for an upgrade, but this card really is not for gaming.


Return to “Trine 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests