Binding keys to commands

All discussion about Shadowgrounds.
teaqu
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:44 pm

Binding keys to commands

Postby teaqu » Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:52 pm

hi... my brother is a big fan of this game he even had me use allmost 1000 dkk(alot of maney) on the game :D
anyways.. now he has gone tired of compleating the game(he compleated the game for the 3rd time on hard.. witch i even had tryed yet...)
and he wants to know how to bind cheats and other commands to keybuttons...

how do i do that... i tryed to do that in the file outside the game but dosen't work...
also i tryed bind k externInclude developer:reloadstuff in the console but it dosen't work...

so is ther anyone wanna help me and my brother have some more fun???

PS. rememeber, for about 2 month or so, ago, that i was making Sudden Death??? well few days ago when i finaly had the full version every thing suddenly just screwed up... it's a total mess...
and i fear i haft to start all over again :( witch i most likely won't so i think it's going to be a bad idea to make, at all...

anyways thanks for any help...
(hope i posted the right place...)
Death should not be rushed,
when there is a game to be played.

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:16 am

Try putting a comma after the bind... like
bind k, externInclude developer:reloadstuff

You can test this easily with the pause command. So for example:
bind p, pause (or bind pause, p) [and unpause is the other one]

I'm not sure if externIncludes work that way, haven't tested...
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Fri Nov 10, 2006 8:25 pm

I just confirmed that the correct format is "bind pause,p". However, externIncludes can't be binded that way... I'm not sure how to do that. What are you trying to accomplish though? You could probably use the developer keys (activated by SPACE+1+F12 pressed simultaneously) and then modify the F7 give all weapons command. (Not sure where in the scripts that is, though.)
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

teaqu
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby teaqu » Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:38 pm

what about alias commands???
with the externInclude developer:reloadstuff command???

so instead of that long command you just type giveammo...

i gonna try now.. now that i have time :D
Death should not be rushed,

when there is a game to be played.

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Sat Nov 11, 2006 3:16 am

Hmm yeah could work somehow. I should really learn all this stuff myself too. I'll ask on Monday what's the best way to do this...
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

teaqu
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby teaqu » Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:36 pm

welll i just found out that alias have no effect at all...
seems more like SG was not made with the help of the Source engine...
even tough it looks extremly like that...

anyways... the Space+1+F12 is VERY helpfull...
tough the ghosts of the future option in misc is very stupid like hell ...

but all in all... my brother played it again WITH the cheats and he was allmost laughing all the time... elec-gun and reloading to keep of feeel that you have unlimited ammo was hes great fun...

man i think he toasted atleast a million bugs...
with the spawn cheat thingy :D
you have done a great job :D

great game :D
simple but very cool...

well... if you find a way to bind the cheats like immortal and reload to K and L please lamme know okay???
anyways see ya around....

you have been a great help so far :D
Death should not be rushed,

when there is a game to be played.

User avatar
fb_jpk
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:05 pm

Postby fb_jpk » Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:08 pm

ok, running the script commands directly from keybinds is a bit trickier thing to do, but still possible...

it should work when writing something like this to the game console:

Code: Select all

unbind k
bind run_script_11,k

setString developer_script_5
setOptionValue controller_script_11

unbind l
bind run_script_12,l

setString developer_script_6
setOptionValue controller_script_12


The above lines should bind the K and L keys to the immortality toggle and stuff giving scripts...

or a much shorter version, which works only after the developer keybinds are enabled..

Code: Select all

bind run_script_7,l
bind run_script_8,k


Note, that the developer keybinds actually bind K and L keys to other purposes, so the unbinds are necessary if you don't want to get things messed up.

Also note, reload and immortality are already bound to F6 and F7 when you enable the developer keybinds. So you should not really need bind them to other keys. You could just use the F6 and F7 :D

teaqu
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby teaqu » Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:42 pm

aaah very cool!!!!

i diden't know about the f6 and f7 keys...
i gonna tel that to my brother he weill be extreamly happy to know that :D and thanks again......
Death should not be rushed,

when there is a game to be played.

teaqu
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby teaqu » Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:43 pm

now that i think of it... does the cheats work in coop and applies for all players or only player 1??
Death should not be rushed,

when there is a game to be played.

User avatar
DarkCube
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Somewhere

Postby DarkCube » Mon Nov 13, 2006 5:07 pm

I would quess that for all players, but I don't know for sure
Facts can be changed.


Return to “Shadowgrounds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests