wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Technical support for the Linux and Mac platforms for all Trine games.
mickycat
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:23 am

wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby mickycat » Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:41 am

The default settings doesn't work for me on xbox 360.
Jump defaults to btn-1 but A on the controller is btn-12. I tried to re-map these keys. Would you describe how the mapping supposed to work? Like Jump is XBOX A Button.

I was able to configure most of the buttons according to the FIFA 12 mapping, but the LT and RT still doesn't work.

It's weird that in FIFA 12 configuration, the setting appears to be correct and matching your defaults.

Code: Select all

   AddMap PC_CONTROL_BUTTON02 VB_AI_B
   AddMap PC_CONTROL_BUTTON01 VB_AI_A
   AddMap PC_CONTROL_BUTTON03 VB_AI_X
   AddMap PC_CONTROL_BUTTON04 VB_AI_Y


I use the latest drive from here http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/Projec ... /OsxDriver
The OS is Lion.

Here is my mapping:

Code: Select all

joystick_x_axis = axis_rx
joystick_y_axis = axis_ry
controller_type = 105
camera_move_forward = joy-up,joy-pov-up
camera_move_backward = joy-down,joy-pov-down
camera_move_left = joy-left,joy-pov-left
camera_move_right = joy-right,joy-pov-right
quit = joy-but-13
screenshot = f11
console_toggle = f8
execute = joy-but-13
run_script_20 = joy-but-10
run_script_21 = joy-but-9
wizard_break_object = joy-but-14
wizard_draw_levitate_1 = joy-throttle-down,joy-rudder-right
wizard_draw_levitate_2 = joy-throttle-down,joy-rudder-right
thief_attack_current_weapon = joy-rx-any,joy-ry-any
thief_use_rope = joy-throttle-down,joy-rudder-right
thief_select_normal_arrow = joy-but-14
thief_select_fire_arrow = joy-but-15
thief_ninja_time = joy-but-2
warrior_attack_current_weapon = joy-rudder-right
warrior_attack_sword = joy-but-14
warrior_attack_hammer = joy-but-15
warrior_charge = joy-throttle-down
warrior_shield_throw = joy-rx-any,joy-ry-any
warrior_object_pickup = joy-but-13
open_upgrade = joy-but-7
jump = joy-but-12,joy-up
open_pause_menu = joy-but-8
menu_select = joy-but-12
menu_special_1 = joy-but-15
menu_special_2 = joy-but-14
binds_v106 = 1

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby fb_joel » Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:36 am

Hmmm. The game should work with the Wired Xbox 360 Controller just fine. I wonder if the Wireless one has different bindings...

I actually tried to check this earlier but I could not get the Wireless Receiver connected to the Mac. If you tell me how to do that, I can probably figure out how to fix the configuration issue. :)
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

mickycat
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:23 am

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby mickycat » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:30 am

I can do it by using the driver here http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/Projec ... /OsxDriver

I connect the Xbox 360 Wireless Gaming Receiver for Windows to mac, then pair the wireless controller with the receiver. Then you can find whether it's working from system preference.
Image

For me, everything works including vibrate. And the controller works perfectly in some other games. The only issue with Trine is the RT/LT.

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby fb_joel » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:37 am

Now I realize I probably tried the Receiver on a Mac that didn't have drivers installed... might explain.

I will try to check this tomorrow.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

vincemoralle
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:31 am

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby vincemoralle » Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:32 am

I am also looking for resolution to this. What is the fix?

Bisewski
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:08 am

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby Bisewski » Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:12 am

I can't play with XBox 360 wireless controller... When I try to change controls, if I click in any command, appears "Axis 3", and I can't save changes.If I keep the defaults, can't select XBox controller in menu.

Please, solve this. I bought this game to play using a controller. Thanks!

Îto82
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:18 pm

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby Îto82 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:34 pm

I also have the Axis 3 problem. But with a wired Xbox controller. (MBP 5,4 OSX 10.6.8 )

Everything works perfectly in Trine 1, but I can't use the controller in Trine 2.

if I try to reconfigure any Button that is if i click on an action in the controller config I always get "Axis 3" before I press anything. Seems to be an issue with the analogue shoulder buttons since if I press the left(?) one from there on I get "Axis 6"
until I try the other one again.

The recommended driver http://tattiebogle.net/index.php/Projec ... /OsxDriver shows everything correctly.
But it also cannot adjust a deadzone for the shoulder buttons. Maybe there is a small but constant signal from them.

I bought the controller just for Trine 1. So i was really happy for Trine 2 to come out but now this :-(

Would be thankful for any help.

PS I bought the Appstore version (It says version 1.06)

Atmos4
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:18 am

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby Atmos4 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:24 am

The controls for Xbox 360 Wireless controller in Trine 1 using the above mentioned drivers is broken. However the controller works fine in Trine 2. Could you release an update to Trine 1 to support this controller?

If needed I can provide a description of the hid button numbers and how they map to the keys etc. on the controller.

DB83
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:14 am

Re: wrong defaults for xbox 360 wireless controller on mac

Postby DB83 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:27 am

Atmos4 wrote:The controls for Xbox 360 Wireless controller in Trine 1 using the above mentioned drivers is broken. However the controller works fine in Trine 2. Could you release an update to Trine 1 to support this controller?

If needed I can provide a description of the hid button numbers and how they map to the keys etc. on the controller.


Same here, I would really love for this to be fixed as I don't have a desk and using the trackpad for levitation is bad. Like others have said, I've tried configuring the wireless 360 controller but I can't seem to get it right. Some buttons work and others like LB, RB, LT and RT don't work.

Thanks.


Return to “Trine Technical Support for Linux & Mac”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests