"Unofficial" patch download info

Have a problem with Shadowgrounds or Shadowgrounds Survivor on the Windows platform? Post here.
User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

"Unofficial" patch download info

Postby fb_joel » Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:31 pm

The patch is here!

Well, it's an "unofficial" version at this point. Basically what this means is that we will get some user comments (if there are any install problems etc) before making this official.

DO NOT DISTRIBUTE THIS PATCH YET (for game sites' webmasters)

Also, please note that it's important to only download the patch for your version of Shadowgrounds. This means that the Finnish copy must be patched with the Finnish patch, and same for the German one (Germany, Austria, Switzerland).

The two patches are at:
(link deleted because this is old stuff now)

Let me know your comments. The "official" version will be released next week. Also, the patch for French and Benelux versions will be released next week.

Sorry it took this long to make the patch. I'm also disappointed that we didn't have the time to make all that many fixes yet.

PATCH CHANGELOG:


Version 1.01:

FIXES:
* Mission 4: IserCOM; after this patch it is not possible to get stuck in the "corridor fight" in the middle of Mission 4. The doors should open automatically after x minutes.
* Mission 9: Provectus; in co-op, after this patch the players should be able to continue the game if they die during the Provectus reactor fixing.
* GeForce 6600GT; graphics bugs fixed.
* Weapon upgrade descriptions; new formatting (all prices now shown in the bottom of the text area)

FEATURES:
* After completing the game on "Hard" difficulty, a new difficulty setting "Very Hard" becomes available.
* After completing the game on "Very Hard" difficulty, the ultimate difficulty setting becomes available: "Impossible".
* "Reset After Load" added to Shadowgrounds Launcher; if the game crashes when you press "START" on the Loading Menu, disabling this feature may help on some graphics cards.
########################

I already noticed some minor things I will change for the official release in the spelling of the changelog...

Also, for owners of GeForce 6600 GT, please let us know if the patch fixes all the problems, or only some. (We weren't able to replace all the problems, so we can only guess if the patch fixes them - please let us know.)


Cheers,
Joel
Last edited by fb_joel on Sat May 20, 2006 12:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:23 am

Wow, trying this will be exciting :) Two new difficulty levels! I think you've just tripled SG's replay value!

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:26 am

Yeah... The thing is that you need to complete the game on Hard before Very Hard is available etc... Comments welcome about that, maybe it should become available even if you complete the game on any difficulty setting.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:06 pm

I say the 'very hard' setting comes available after hard. The hard is not so hard anyway :) Remember to tell it in the game how to unlock the difficulty levels.

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:13 pm

Well, I installed the 1.01 patch, and, unfortunately, I am not fully confident of its healing power. Actually, this 1.01 brought me some more problems that I didn't have in 1.0.

1. Turning the flash light on resulted in decreased framerates and weird sluggishness in the camera following the player. Sometimes turning on the flashlight put the game frozen for few seconds. For example, in The Mines level I had now about 20 fps while flashlight on. in 1.0 it was easily 60.

2. When the flashlight was on, sound started to twitch and crackle. After some time, the game silenced itself. That may have happened after I died and spawned again. The sounds were still gone after I restarted the game.

User avatar
Grisu
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Grisu » Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:26 pm

Thanks for the patch info Joel.

Sadly, I don't have time for testing it as I'm in mid of exams. :(

But I managed to spread the info of the English demo to some forums. :)

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Fri Feb 03, 2006 2:03 pm

Thanks Grisu. All help is really appreciated. :)

Anyway, we'll be looking into the various framerate problems soonish...
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

blackdrake
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:42 pm
Location: Bammental
Contact:

Postby blackdrake » Sun Feb 05, 2006 10:20 pm

Hello.

I found this bug:

http://www.shadowgroundsgame.com/forum/ ... .php?t=216

Now I saw, that the inofficial patch 1.01 fix the following thing:

fb_joel wrote:* Mission 9: Provectus; in co-op, after this patch the players should be able to continue the game if they die during the Provectus reactor fixing.


I think this should mean Mission 7 not Mission 9, or is there another reactor?

#Daniel Marschall

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:07 am

The level nine is Emicron Base. I think Joel confused the levels.

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:55 am

Yeah it's a mistake. Somehow I got confused, heh.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:36 am

How are the strange slow-downs in graphics in unofficial 1.01 going to be addressed? I got one more strange bug in The Mines. Several times I noticed something fly fast through the screen between the camera and Tyler. One time I managed to see what it was, and surprisingly, it looked like a bitmap that holds all the fonts of Shadowgrounds. With all those 012345's and abcdefg's :D

But seriously, I am deeply concerned about the severely dropped framerates with unofficial 1.01.

Wicky12
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:39 pm

Postby Wicky12 » Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:12 pm

:arrow: Thanks for the patch!

User avatar
dagon
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:51 pm
Location: France
Contact:

patch for French and Benelux versions

Postby dagon » Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:54 pm

still waiting for french patch.

on january 31th you said "next week"
seems on thursday 9th the week is almost finished...

any news for the french patch ?
Dagon
webmaster of the Dagon's Lair
http://www.dagonslair.com

Cylon

not hard enough...

Postby Cylon » Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:45 am

The hard difficulty really isnt hard enough. Ive mainly played with 2 player with my friend and id really like to see the harder difficulty level as default choice to get some real challenge to it from the start...

User avatar
Sampo
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Postby Sampo » Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:16 am

You know Cylon, that's what the 1.01 is for.

raakkel
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:26 am

Postby raakkel » Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:13 am

okay, a 6600 gt user now testing :) *downloading*

Nick

Postby Nick » Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:24 am

the 6600GT bug is still there for me after applying the patch

Guest

Postby Guest » Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:27 am

the 6600GT bug is still there for me after applying the patch

my drivers version are ForceWare 81.95

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:22 pm

Ok, looks like the fix doesn't really fix all of the 6600 GT bugs. Are there anyone here whose 6600 GT issues were fixed by the patch?
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Romulus
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:56 am
Location: UK
Contact:

new patch?

Postby Romulus » Wed May 03, 2006 1:32 pm

Is that general patch coming out any time soon? You said maybe this week
Oak Technology Inc. OTIVGA motherboard
ACC Micro 2036 @ 33 MHz
Intel SX-20
NMBS{8*16K}TCC-T-H7v Total: 128k
Maxtor 80mb C:
3 1/2 inch floppy
TATUNG case with 1x48mm fan
Orchid SoundBlaster 16
TATUNG 12/14 12" monitor

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Wed May 03, 2006 2:20 pm

Maybe this week yeah (that means Friday). Monday/Tuesday next week are also quite possible. I'm aiming for a single patch for all versions, but we'll see how that goes.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Qraft
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:32 am
Location: Sweden

Postby Qraft » Thu May 04, 2006 12:11 am

was it this version that removes the cd check?
Image
Game of the year 2006 :D

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Thu May 04, 2006 11:22 am

Yup.

And it's delayed to next week for sure. :? Some trouble with the new demo and Polish and Hungarian localizations, so the rest of this week is hard work to get those done.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

User avatar
Romulus
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:56 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Romulus » Thu May 04, 2006 6:08 pm

Thanks for the update, I want to wait for the patch before i carry on playing.
Oak Technology Inc. OTIVGA motherboard

ACC Micro 2036 @ 33 MHz

Intel SX-20

NMBS{8*16K}TCC-T-H7v Total: 128k

Maxtor 80mb C:

3 1/2 inch floppy

TATUNG case with 1x48mm fan

Orchid SoundBlaster 16

TATUNG 12/14 12" monitor

User avatar
DARK_Overfiend
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 4:16 am
Location: Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby DARK_Overfiend » Sat May 20, 2006 4:19 am

Ummm.... i just want to Know, which Patch Would i have to download. for the Steam Version of S.G.

yeh i want to fix that problem on my Nvidia 6600GT where i get these green blotchs all over my screen.
Image


Return to “Technical Support for Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests