Page 1 of 1

Random crashes / new BETA test patch 1.04

Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:26 pm
by fb_joel
Note/Update: The patch will be released as "1.04" instead of the beta number. Sorry for any potential the confusion. And the release date is next week (i.e. the week starting on 29th of May).

Original message:

We are trying to fix the major crash bugs. To do this, we need the help of people who get the crashes.

So, if you have the RETAIL version of Shadowgrounds (any country), and have a crash that happens often (such as loading screen crash, PDA crash), please help us track down the bugs by downloading a Beta patch 1.05.

Please note that this Beta is NOT for public distribution. We are hoping to fix some of these crashes for the final patch 1.05.

Note: If you have the Level Editor installed, you are advised to take backups of the exes and especially storm3dv2.dll. This beta patch should work with the editor, perhaps with the exception of the aforementioned file.

Note 2: Do NOT install this over Steam version.

INSTRUCTIONS:

- Take a backup copy of the current Shadowgrounds.exe and storm3dv2.dll. Also a good idea to take a backup of your Profiles directory, so that your saves are kept safe at all times.

- Download the Beta 1.05 patch at
http://www.shadowgroundsgame.com/betapatch105/

- Extract the patch to your Shadowgrounds directory.

- Go to the Properties of My Computer (easiest way is to click on the Start menu button, and then right-click on My Computer and select Properties), click the Advanced tab, click Error Reporting, and click Disable error reporting (but keep the checkbox below checked so it notifies you). This is so that we can be sure that Windows creates the error file we need.

- Now run the game as you would normally.

WHEN THE GAME CRASHES:

- Go to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Dr Watson , and find the file "user.dmp". This is the file we need. So send it to us via email (info //at// frozenbyte.com works ok) or upload to some place on the web.

That's it. Now we should be one step closer to the solutions...

Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:39 pm
by fb_joel
Just bumping.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 8:57 pm
by ZEUS_GB
I'll give it a go and post back.

Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 12:22 am
by ZcRaider
ROGER ! 8)

Update:
Narg..... I have the steam version....sighs LOL.

Ill try it offline.

Update #2:
No go heh. Oh well, i'll just do it the manual way. Restore my backups and leave Dr.Watson Running in Background.

Update #3:
I encountered a simple access violation (alt - tabing to much in game hehe)
Silly Silly windows.

Well here is the log, I dare not post the dmp. The thing is like 333 Megs :shock:

http://us.f13.yahoofs.com/bc/44696b18_2 ... +tab+crash).log?bf3D6aEBlh_nG9Ce

Anyways ill keep ya posted. I'll try get get the PDA error next time heh 8)

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 4:57 pm
by pibehans
Note 2: Do NOT install this over Steam version.
I just did this. I didnt see this and my game is a Steam version. I didnt back up my files and now it chrashes to desktop everytime it finishes the loadingscreen and introvid. I tried to delete content and then reinstall with no result.
can you help me pls? Anyway thanks for a great game.

I can help!

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:30 pm
by ZcRaider
Try this.

Delete these two files.

Data2.fbz

Data3.fbz


Rename or delete Shadowgrounds.exe.

Rename or delete storm3dv2.dll

Rename or delete fmod.dll

Go to steam options and verify game files.

Reinstall if need be. (only 800 megs 10 - 15 mins at least)

Should work then :-)

Same thing happend to me heh. NARG............ Image

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 7:18 pm
by fb_joel
Deleting and re-downloading should work as said above.

Note 2: Do NOT install this over Steam version.

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 9:34 pm
by pibehans
Problem solved!
Thanks for the quick response.

Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 8:39 pm
by Sampo
Wohoo, 1.05 beta :) :) Checking soon, if the low fps problem has disappeared.

Joel, could we have keyboard control for the level beginning screen? I don't really like to move the mouse over the vague start-button every time a level is loaded.

EDIT: Now tested to the Weather Station level. No sign of water related slowdown :) However, I do notice some general slowdown from the 1.0, but that is about 5-10 fps from steady 60 that 1.0 was to me. So much thanks for removing the CD verification!