Game crashes to desktop after main menu.

Have a problem with Shadowgrounds or Shadowgrounds Survivor on the Windows platform? Post here.
Guest

Postby Guest » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:32 am

I think it's not the "old" hardware. my system :

P4 3,4
6600 GT (81.85)
1 GB Ram
WinXP SP2

It crashes at the same situation in every resolution
and detail level/preference...

User avatar
sid_john
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:50 am
Contact:

same

Postby sid_john » Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:59 am

i would be very glad if FrozenByte team will answer about this problem or just tell us at what stage the solving this trouble.
i'm sure that shadowgrounds much better game that Alienshooter or crimson land, and i can't wait to play on my laptop.

please tell us your thoughts.

thanks a lot for quick reply!!! :P

TSP

Postby TSP » Mon Nov 28, 2005 10:49 pm

i have same problem

ATI RADEON 9000 latest drivers

solution can be easy ... problem is betwee switching your current desktop resolution to game resolution it looks like

example:

u have desktop resolution: 1280x1024
game resolution set: 1024x768

game start ... menu load everyrhing is ok then u load mission hit start and bam crash

change desktop resolution to: 1024x768 than run it it should work fine

...

definitivelly patch needed not funny bug :( and really if u want play 800x600 switching desktop resolution to 800x600 kinda sux :)

HedonisM

Postby HedonisM » Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:55 am

I have the same resolution as destop and problem still persist. Game hang up right after main menu. Patch please!!

User avatar
sid_john
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:50 am
Contact:

nothing

Postby sid_john » Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:23 am

i've tried different resiolutions but still nothing...
it is still crashing after starting new game... 2 minutes LOADING, and then...bang...i can see my desktop again...
damn i wanna play this game on laptop.

i can play on my PC, but you can take it with you to somewhere...

Nostromo

Postby Nostromo » Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:08 pm

i was enabled logging in options.txt:

Debug
{
console_history_save = 1
console_loglevel = 1
loglevel = 1
raise_console_loglevel = 0
}

and this is what i got, after crash:

30.11.2005 [16:55]
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 27)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 29)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 30)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 31)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 33)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 35)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 36)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 38)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 39)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 44)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 47)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 49)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 51)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 53)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 54)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 58)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 59)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 61)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 63)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 64)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 65)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 66)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 67)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 70)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 71)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 72)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 74)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 75)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 78)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 80)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 83)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - externInclude failed, given script has no given sub. (file data/scripts/aliens/tiny_scavenger.dhps, line 217)
ERROR: Could not open script file or preprocess failed. (file data/missions/common/camcontrol.dhps, line 0)
ERROR: Could not open script file or preprocess failed. (file data/missions/common/camcontrol.dhps, line 0)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3610)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3652)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3694)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3736)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3778)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3820)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3862)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3904)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3946)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4053)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4095)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4467)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 441)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 572)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 600)
ERROR: Character - Could not open file.
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: Couldn't find locale key: gui_weapon_player_name_font
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadFont - Could not open font file. ((LOCALIZATION MISSING))
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.

theres more on higher loglevel

Darky
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: Suomi, Finland
Contact:

Postby Darky » Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:16 pm

i enabled logging too and i got this:


30.11.2005 [21:10]
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 27)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 29)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 30)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 31)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 33)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 35)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 36)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 38)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 39)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 44)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 47)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 49)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 51)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 53)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 54)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 58)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 59)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 61)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 63)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 64)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 65)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 66)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 67)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 70)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 71)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 72)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 74)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 75)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 78)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 80)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file memory/savegame, line 83)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - externInclude failed, given script has no given sub. (file data/scripts/aliens/tiny_scavenger.dhps, line 217)
ERROR: Could not open script file or preprocess failed. (file data/missions/common/camcontrol.dhps, line 0)
ERROR: Could not open script file or preprocess failed. (file data/missions/common/camcontrol.dhps, line 0)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3610)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3652)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3694)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3736)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3778)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3820)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3862)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3904)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 3946)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4053)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4095)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - setVariable, no variable defined with given name. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_ai.dhps, line 4467)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 441)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 572)
ERROR: Script::addCommand - Number expected. (file data/missions/mission1/mission1_units.dhps, line 600)
ERROR: Character - Could not open file.
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_msg.jpg)
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadOguiImage - Could not load image. (Data/Pictures/Faces/m10_bsoldier1_icon.jpg)
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: Couldn't find locale key: gui_weapon_player_name_font
ERROR: OguiStormDriver::LoadFont - Could not open font file. ((LOCALIZATION MISSING))
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.
ERROR: VisualObjectModel::getNewObjectInstance - Failed to load model.

Zeikko

Postby Zeikko » Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:51 am

bastard wrote:My game has worked fine until the 'activation of the spaceship' mission where you gotta do small missions to put that ship alive... So i have to enter 'delta labs' and after i have killed some 4 cannon mobs and i walk along the hallway the PC reboots itself :D (i think it changed to cineamtics on the moment)

Well, i was little pissed so i tried again and redid the mission and the same thing happened again ^^

Im using
AMD 3000+
nVidia GeForce4 TI 4800 SE (got all newest drivers)
Ram 1gig


After bo0ting these files had something to do with it... well i dunno...
C:\DOCUME~1\Admin\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER9c41.dir00\Mini111905-02.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Admin\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER9c41.dir0\sysdata.xml


I have FX 5900 XT and i got bluescreen and the comp rebooted in the same place. It happened earlier in some other map too, just when cinematics were about to start, then i just played it again and no crash. But this time i should play like 1 hour to get into the same point. Hooray! No guicksave!

Zeikko

Postby Zeikko » Mon Dec 05, 2005 5:13 pm

I played the same map again and crashed exactly in the same place. I was in Delta Labs going into the Amew place and some gas started to pour into the room and then i got BSOD, comp rebooted and said it recovered from a serious error.

Lisuliini
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: Suomi

Postby Lisuliini » Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:47 pm

I have exactly the same problem with you fellow gamers. My computer has enough power. The problem seems to be the GeForce 4. When I try to start a new game it shutsdown. i have tried everything. All the things which players in here have suggested and lot of other stuff. This problem should be fixed soon as possible. I don´t want my money back, I just want to play.

Agony

Game crashes to desktop

Postby Agony » Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:03 pm

I´ve got an AMD XP 2800+ and a Geforce 6600 GT.

Game crashes after a few moments of playing back to desktop :cry:

Please fix that problem and release a patch, thx.

User avatar
sid_john
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:50 am
Contact:

very tired...

Postby sid_john » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:02 pm

[email protected]#$ing hell........................
i download latest, present, past drivers for my videocard....still nothing,
2 day ago i dowloaded last directX_9c_dec2005 release...
STILL THIS [email protected]#%ING PROBLEM..... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

for those who do not know... :arrow: .GAME CRASHES AFTER START NEW GAME!!!! :evil:

where is the PATCH that was promised!?!?!?!?!?



p.s sorry for nervs.

User avatar
sid_john
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:50 am
Contact:

!

Postby sid_john » Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:05 pm

ok, i'm kool now..."good replace...sweet pill helped me... :lol: :lol: :lol: "
don't ban me for upper [email protected]#$ing words :roll:

User avatar
Grisu
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:53 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Grisu » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:10 pm

The crashing to desktop bug might be the same with the one from bf2.
The game needs a BIG windows swapfile.

Try to check your size, it should be 2.5 times the amount of total ram you have!

raydenx

Postby raydenx » Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:24 am

I have a 3G swap file so It can't be that >_<

Guest

Works

Postby Guest » Sun Dec 25, 2005 7:07 pm

That works so well for me, thanks.

finpro

Postby finpro » Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:25 pm

i have same problem with gforce 4 please fix it FAST! patch needed! :twisted:

viperk1

solved problem for myself...dont know if it helps others

Postby viperk1 » Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:58 am

I had a geforce 4 MX 440 and i had the same problem. but i got a 6600 GT for christmas (well, boxing day) and now the game works like a dream. So i am assuming that the fault is purely with the graphics card.

cheers

viperk1

Postby viperk1 » Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:01 am

Anonymous wrote:I think it's not the "old" hardware. my system :

P4 3,4
6600 GT (81.85)
1 GB Ram
WinXP SP2

It crashes at the same situation in every resolution
and detail level/preference...


i just saw this post and i am flabbergasted now. only difference is i have 2.6 Ghz and SP1 and i am using 77.77 so i guess driver is also at fault?

explicit_elephant
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:54 am

Postby explicit_elephant » Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:59 am

I got the same problem than the first given here.

I start the game, the menu display, I can select 'new game'
I choose my configuration 'solo' 'medium' I can start.

The game is loading, then display a start button, the video starts and end a few second latter (before the end of the speaker's sentence) then the application crashes to desktop...

I'm very borring to pay and not to play. please help us quick.

[computer]
AMD x64 x2 4400+
GeForce 7900GT
2Go Ram
Windows XP professional edition

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Postby fb_joel » Wed Jun 07, 2006 12:04 pm

explicit_elephant wrote:I got The game is loading, then display a start button, the video starts and end a few second latter (before the end of the speaker's sentence) then the application crashes to desktop...

Do you have the Steam version? What language? This sounds similar to the Steam problem, thread at
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... did=444764

If this is the case, then I'm hoping that it's because the localized Steam versions haven't been patched yet for some reason. Hopefully we'll get this fixed today.

Edit: I just noticed this thread never really got an official response. December was our most hectic month ever, with so many things happening that we pretty much lost track of the forum. So, erm... Sorry? :oops:

All these problems have been fixed by the latest graphics card drivers, I would imagine. (And if not, then by the 1.04 Patch hopefully.)
// Joel, Frozenbyte team


Return to “Technical Support for Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests