Unofficial patch for Shadowgrounds and Survivor

Discussion about Shadowgrounds and Shadowgrounds Survivor Mods and the Level Editor.
Radegast

Unofficial patch for Shadowgrounds and Survivor

Postby Radegast » Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:47 pm

I bought Humble Frozenbyte Bundle this week which contains both Shadowgrounds and Survivor games. I started playing Shadowgrounds first and immediately fell in love with it. Unfortunately, after an hour of playing the game started freezing for periods of time until it crashed completely and I wasn't able to start it again on my OS X 10.9. Survivor only showed black window upon start up from Steam. When I browsed these forums for support, I found out that source code is available for both games, so naturally I searched for a community project which maintains these games and guess what? There is none!

The only person who began fixing the code was Vasiliy Yeremeyev at Github, but it seems he is either taking a very long break from it or he abandoned his project. He did all the heavy lifting by creating CMake build script which makes S+S relatively easy to compile on all platforms, so I forked his repo. I added a quick and dirty OS X build support and compiled everything. However, the result is even more buggy and crash-prone than the official release. I will have to bisect the commits and see if Vasiliy hasn't made a mistake somewhere, but from a quick look it seems the problem lies in the original open-sourced code from Frozenbyte.

It is an extremely rare occasion when a game (engine) of such quality is open-sourced, so I decided to do my best and continue Vasiliy's work on an unofficial patch here:

Repository: https://github.com/JanSimek/shadowgrounds

My humble goal is to make both games playable from start to finish without a crash. It is a huge task for a single amateur programmer, so any help and advice is appreciated. New contributors are welcome.

Planned features