Crash

For discussion about Trine, firstly released in 2009 for Windows and on PlayStation Network.
Francico
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:32 am

Crash

Postby Francico » Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:57 am

Dear Lauri:

First of all, congratulations for such a brilliant and refreshing game.
Changing topic, I cannot play the demo because it always crashes after the initial cut scene when a map appears on screen. I would really appreciate some help on this problem.

Thank you very much and keep up all the good work.

My specs are:

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX 9650
Geforce GTX 260 SLI
4 gb RAM
Windows Vista 64 bits
Nvidia 186.18 drivers

Ark
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby Ark » Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:31 am


Francico
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:32 am

Re: Crash

Postby Francico » Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:49 pm

Thank you for your help.

I have already installed physx 9.09.0428 and I have the same problem: it crashes when the map is on screen.

Once again I appreciate your help.

Ark
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby Ark » Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:03 pm

Try installing it with quiet mode.

Start > Run > type "cmd"

Then CD (change directory) to we're the phyx installer is located.

Use the quiet switch, then install.

It should look something similar to this: c:\downloads\PhysX_9.09.0428_SystemSoftware.exe \quiet

Francico
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:32 am

Re: Crash

Postby Francico » Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:31 pm

Thanks Ark. I´ll try later when I get back home from the office.

Have a nice day.

User avatar
FB_Lauri
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:51 pm

Re: Crash

Postby FB_Lauri » Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:56 pm

I will ask programmers to check more frequently here also.

So far problems have been caused if you have AA on, or PhysX driver version. Try disabling AA after you have checked all drivers are newest :D

Francico
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:32 am

Re: Crash

Postby Francico » Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:49 pm

Thank you sooooo much Ark and Lauri.

I deleted the PhysX_9.09.0428 and re-installed it and everything is working to perfection.

By the way, it looks and plays very impressive.

Best regards,


Francisco.

adk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby adk » Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:36 am

I've got very similar problem but my PC reboot after the map :( I can play only for 1-5 seconds and reboot. All my drivers are up to date ( also tried instaling phisx in quiet mod ) My last though was maybe a problem with overheating but i checked all the temps and it's all good.

ps. Sorry for my bad english.
ps. 2 - no problems with other games.

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Crash

Postby fb_joel » Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:58 am

adk, sorry to hear that. Can you post your system specs?

So you see the game, and you can move in the first level with the Thief for a tiny bit, and then it reboots? Do you see any graphical errors, or does it look ok?

Rebooting is not very nice. :( I'm very unsure what could cause this, but I think you should try lower resolution and graphics settings at least, and maybe check if there's any options in the graphics card driver control panel. If the problem persists I'll try to get our programmers to think about this on Monday.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

adk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby adk » Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:00 pm

Thanks for the answer and sorry for lack of info ;]

About the specs: it's old junk but meet the minimal requirements.
Athlon XP 3200+, 1,5 GB Ram, NVidia 7600 GS ( No parts were overclocked ), Win XP SP3 ( 5-6 days old )

Yes i can move and in this short time i didnt see any graphical bugs/glitches. Also tried to run the game with lowest details/resolution but this didnt change anything.
Here is my minidump file ( or rather what i get from this file with windebugger ) http://paste2.org/p/290204

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Crash

Postby fb_joel » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:08 pm

Ok, that goes over my head. We'll need to have a programmer look at this. If you don't mind the rebooting, you could try different graphics card drivers (older versions, newer ones, etc), but that's the only advice I can give right now.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team

adk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby adk » Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:04 pm

ATM tried 186.18 and 185.85 drivers and still the same, later will try older . BTW if You have a contact with programmer, can You ask him about more detailed requirements - most interesting part for me is about SSE2 instructios in cpu - are they required?

kona
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby kona » Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:36 am

Hellou.
I have the same problem like FRANCICO , but I haven't nvidia graphic card but ATI HD 4870.
When it crashes there is error something about cuda.dll , maybe the main problem will be in PhysX but I have ATI .
Can you help me ?
Thanks
My PC config. (Core 2 duo E8400 3.6 ghz , ATI 4870 512 MB , 4 GB ram , VISTA 64-bit .... Catalyst 9.6 )

Ark
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby Ark » Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:51 am

I have a ATI card and it worked for me.

Install Trine, then unistall the Physx drivers which are installed with Trine. Then download this: http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_9.09.0428_whql.html and install in quiet mode with the instructions listed above.

You need to have Physx installed even if your using an ATI card, beacuse it will shift the processing to the CPU.

kona
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby kona » Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:36 am

The problem is when aj trie to install PhysX (quiet mode or normal instalation) it crashes(Fatal error - Installation ended prematurely becuase of an error) so I can't install physX in my PC , I download Physx from the link like you said

kona
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:29 am

Re: Crash

Postby kona » Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:18 am

There is other problem :) , physX is installed but when I tried run the game , nothing's happend I was still in windows .
(sorry for my english )

Ismand
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:01 am

Re: Crash

Postby Ismand » Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:12 am

I seem to be having the same problem as ADK.
I start the game and after playing level 1 for awhile, the computer crashes completely. It tries to reboot as if it overheated but according to AIDA32 and Nvidia System Tools, there's no overheating...
My Specs are as follow
----------------------------
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.lh_sp2rtm.090410-1830)
Language: Danish (Regional Setting: Danish)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: P35-DS3L
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 3070MB RAM
Page File: 1124MB used, 5255MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 32bit Unicode
-----------------------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: NVxx
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_05E0&SUBSYS_064E10DE&REV_A1
Display Memory: 2158 MB
Dedicated Memory: 879 MB
Shared Memory: 1279 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Standard PnP-monitor
Driver Name: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
Driver Version: 8.16.0011.9107 (English)
DDI Version: 10
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 9/27/2009 16:12:22, 7614056 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-46A0-11CF-FD50-45261EC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x05E0
SubSys ID: 0x064E10DE
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_C ModeWMV9_C
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not the newest hardware, but it runs everything else smoothly...
Hope anyone can help me out... I'd like to play the game - especially without random reboots
Cheers,
-AL

User avatar
fb_joel
Site Admin
Posts: 2482
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Crash

Postby fb_joel » Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:04 pm

Sorry for the delay (and for the total lack of responses on some of the above issues, I'm assuming they're solved one way or another). The first suggestion is to try lower graphics settings. Random crashes like that tend to have something to do with the hardware, even if sometimes there can be a software bug as well. So lower graphics settings and no antialiasing would be the first thing to try. Let me know.
// Joel, Frozenbyte team


Return to “Trine”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests